Football players selected to All-District team

The Lake Mills Bulldogs were rewarded for their effort this season, as eight players received end-of-year district recognition.
First team All District players were Gabe Irons and Alex Albert.
“Gabe was one of our team leaders this year,” noted Head Coach Bill Byrnes. Irons had 45 tackles from his outside linebacker position, and also handled the kicking duties for the Bulldogs, going five-for-five on field goal attempts, and 53 for 60 on extra points over his career.
The other first team selection was running back, Alex Albert. “Alex was our biggest threat on offense,” praised Byrnes, noting that he led the Bulldogs with 12 touchdowns,  and was a threat running and catching the ball, he also had two kick-off returns for touchdowns.
The trio of Maverick Schmitt, Alex Martinson and Cole Bergo received second team honors. Byrnes had praise for all three players in his comments.
“Maverick Schmitt led our team in tackles and really stepped up the second half of the season. He became our defensive leader as the season went on. Alex Martinson was one of our toughest kids on the field, he always played bigger than his size and contributed in all phases of the game.  Cole Bergo was just very steady for us all year on both sides of the ball, Cole worked really hard in the weight room to make himself a good football player, despite missing several games due to a knee injury.”
Quarterback Cael Boehmer and Split end Tommy Kaktis were named honorable mention. “Cael Boehmer once again had a solid season at quarterback. He is a great leader of the offense and also played cornerback on defense this year,” Byrnes observed. “Tommy Kaktis was our best receiving threat, Tommy was among the district leaders in receptions and can continue to improve and be a real force next season.”
In other honors, sophomore Logan Prescott, who averaged 36.2 yards per punt, was named the District 2 Punter of the Year. Prescott also played running back and safety for the Bulldogs.
In off the field honors, the following team members were named to the All-District, All-Academic teams: Gabe Irons; Blake Storby; Colby Groe; Cael Boehmer; Nate Orban; Tyler Helgeson; Logan Prescott; and, Anthony Naser, were named to the first team, while  Dylan Renneker and Grant Fjelstad were named to the second team.

Lake Mills Graphic

204 N. Mill Street
Lake Mills, IA 50450

Office Number: (641) 592-4222
Fax Number: (641) 592-6397

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to Breaking News feed
Comment Here