LMCDC hands out awards at annual meeting

The Lake Mills Chamber Development Corporation held their annual meeting Monday evening, Jan. 7, in the community room at Ole’s Office, located on N. Mill St.
Several awards were handed out during the meeting.
Business of the Year was awarded to Dave’s Auto Service Pictured top left: LMCDC director, Cassie Johnson, presents the award to owner, Dave Anderson. Dave’s Auto Service has been a great learning environment, employing generations of LMCS graduates, transitioning into the workforce or building careers in the automotive industry. Dave’s has also been exceptional about giving back to the community sponsoring countless events and supporting youth and military causes.
New Business of the Year was awarded to Trio Boutique Pictured center left: LMCDC director, Cassie Johnson, presents the award to owner, Meghan Welter. With so many new businesses and business owners in Lake Mills recently, the chamber decided to introduce this new award, establishing the following criteria: Must be a business that is three years or newer (to Lake Mills) or under new ownership for three or fewer years; has contributed to, or has impacted, the growth of the Lake Mills Community and it’s quality of life; has provided service that is above and beyond their “job description,” and is a member of the LMCDC.
Volunteer of the Year was awarded to Dave Imler, for his dedication to bringing community members together during the annual Asbury United Methodist Church Thanksgiving Community Meal. Pictured bottom left: LMCDC board member, LuAnn Scholbrock presents the award to Dave Imler. Imler commented, “There are so many people that are a part of this award that I want to recognize. My wife Joyce, Vernon and Betty Vold, Lynn and Donna Lair, Joyce and Daryl Sherman and countless others that deserve this more than me.”
Business anniversaries for 2019 were recognized:
10 Years–Salon 304 & Spa
15 Years–Pit Stop Printing and Subway
20 Years–Farmers Trust & Savings Bank and Lake Mills Area Historical Society
30 Years–Epland Trucking and Wagner Tire
35 Years–Duraclean by Doug and Lake Mills Community Preschool & Daycare
40 Years–Groe Electric and Ron’s LP
50 Years–Three Oaks Greenhouse & Gift
65 Years–Larson Manufacturing (57 years in Lake Mills)
145 Years–Salem Lutheran Church
150 Years–City of Lake Mills
Pictured above receiving their anniversary certificates, front row (L-R): Jayne Ringham (Lake Mills Area Historical Society), Mayor Candy Hanna (City of Lake Mills), and Ashley Brackey (Lake Mills Community Preschool & Daycare). Back row: Luke Groe (Groe Electric), Doug Hanna (Duraclean by Doug) and Lory Groe (Farmers Trust & Savings Bank).
Pictured right: Pastor Bill Peters retired from the LMCDC board and was given a certificate in appreciation of his six years of service to the board. Returning to the board were members Becky Peters (Citizens Community Credit Union) and LuAnn Scholbrock (Coloff Digital). Other board members include Stephanie Stevens (president), Evan Fritz (vice president), Drake Abbey (secretary/treasurer), Candy Hanna (City of Lake Mills), Joe Jamtgaard (City of Lake Mills), David Taft (MBT), Heather Yeoman (Uptown Fitness), and Grant Nichols (Larson Manufacturing).

Lake Mills Graphic

204 N. Mill Street
Lake Mills, IA 50450

Office Number: (641) 592-4222
Fax Number: (641) 592-6397

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to Breaking News feed
Comment Here